UTS Luminaries

Shining a light on inspirational alumni

While they come from diverse backgrounds and operate in many different arenas, all UTS Luminaries are united by two things: a shared UTS education experience and their reputation for excellence.

Informed and passionate advocates of, and ambassadors for, the University, UTS Luminaries are a shining example to current and future students, recent graduates and UTS staff of what can be achieved with education and vision.

This remarkable group has expanded each year since the launch of UTS Luminaries program in 2011. For information on the selection criteria for UTS Luminaries please click here.


Russell Balding, AO

Mr Russell Balding AO
Dip Tech Commerce (1976) BBus (1978)
Chairman, NSW Visitor Economy Taskforce; Chairman, NSW Racing

Martin Bean CBE

Mr Martin Bean CBE
BEd Adult Education (1992)
Vice Chancellor, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology

Luca A Belgiorno-Nettis, AM

Mr Luca Belgiorno-Nettis AM
Grad Dip Urban Estate Management (1983)
Founder and Director, The newDemocracy Foundation; Former Joint Managing Director, Transfield Holdings;
UTS VC’s Industry Advisory Board Member; Former Chair, UTS Art Advisory Committee;


Nina Blackwell

Ms Nina Blackwell
LLB (2003)
  Executive Director, Firelight Foundation; Former Senior Director of Global Public Affairs Yahoo! Inc, Former Press Secretary to Senator Hillary Clinton at the United States Senate

Maile Carnegie

Ms Maile Carnegie
BBus Marketing (1992)
Group Executive Digital Banking, ANZ
Chair of the UTS VC's Industry Advisory Board
UTS Alumni Award for Excellence 2013
Business Council of Australia Innovation Task Force
Innovation and Science Australia Board Member

Rob Castaneda

Mr Rob Castaneda
Bachelor of Science in Computing Science (2001)
Founder and Chief Executive Officer, ServiceRocket


Neil G Chatfield

Mr Neil G Chatfield
MBus Accounting and Finance (1994)
Chairman (Non-Executive), Seek Ltd; Chairman, Costa Group Holdings Ltd; Chairman, HomeGround Services; Non-Executive Director of Transurban Group and Recall Holdings 

Kai Chen

Mr Kai Chen
MEM (1998); MBA (1999)
Chief Executive Officer, Jiangsu Aucksun Co Ltd

Rob Coombe

Mr Rob Coombe
Bachelor of Law (1990)
Chair, Craveable Brands Ltd; Executive Chairman, Generation Development Group; Deputy Chairman of AIEF and Surfing Australia; member of the UTS Law Advisory Board


Michael P Coutts-Trotter

Mr Michael Coutts-Trotter
BA Comm (1995)
Secretary, NSW Department of Family and Community Services

Mark Fitzgibbon

Mr Mark Fitzgibbon
MBA (1991)
Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, nib health funds limited

Anna Funder

Ms Anna Funder
DCA (2012)
Author and winner of the Miles Franklin Award for 'All That I Am'


kate grenville

Dr Kate Grenville
Doctor of Creative Arts (2005)
Author and winner of Commonwealth Prize for Literature for The Secret River

Senator Sekai Holland

Senator Sekai Holland
BA Comm (1979); Doctor of Letters (Honoris Causa) 2013
Human Rights Activist; Former Zimbabwean Senator and Co-Minister of State for National Healing, Reconciliation and Integration; Co-Patron, Midlands State University;  Winner of 2012 Sydney Peace Prize; 2014 Advance Global Alumni Award recipient

Huang Zhenhai

Dr Zhenhai Huang
PhD (China Studies) (2007)
General Manager, Guangdong Holdings Limited


Dr Frances Hughes ONZM

Dr Frances Hughes ONZM
Doctor of Nursing (2003)
Executive Director, Cutting Edge Oceania

Jason Hui

Mr Jason Hui (Hui Sai Tan)
BBus (1998)
Vice Chairman and Executive Director, Shimao Property Holdings Ltd

Hugh Jackman

Mr Hugh Jackman
BA Comm (1991)
Actor and Producer; Co-Chairperson and Trustee, Jackman Furness Foundation


Christopher Johnston

Mr Christopher Johnson AM
MBEnv (1993)
Chief Executive Officer, Urban Taskforce Australia

Lance Kalish

Lance Kalish
Bachelor of Business (2000)
Co-Founders, Yes To Inc

The Hon Justice Tricia M Kavanagh

The Hon Tricia Kavanagh
LLB (1981); PhD Law (1998)
Barrister; Arbitrator, Court of Arbitration for Sport; Governor, University of Notre Dame; Former Justice of the Industrial Court of New South Wales


George Koukis

Mr George Koukis
Dip Tech Commerce (1978)
Founder and Non-Executive Director of Temenos, Switzerland

Ian Lee

Mr Ian Lee
Master of Management (1998)
Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer, TKK Capital

Ido Leffler

Ido Leffler
Bachelor of Business (2000)
Co-Founders, Yes To Inc


Peter Le Lievre

Mr Peter Le Lievre
BDesign Industrial Design (1987)
Executive Director, Renewable Technology Developments Inc; Winner, 2013 Advance Global Award for Manufacturing

Geoff Lloyd

Mr Geoff Lloyd
Masters of Law (Distinction)
Former Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Perpetual Limited

Troy Lum

Mr Troy Lum
BBus (1995)
Co-founder and Managing Director, Hopscotch Films


Graeme Mason

Graeme Mason
Bachelor of Arts (Communications) (1987)
Chief Executive Officer, Screen Australia

Carolyn McGregor AM

Professor Carolyn McGregor AM
Bachelor of Applied Science in Computing Science (1991); PhD in Computing Sciences (2003)
Canada Research Chair in Health Informatics, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Kim McKay, AO

Ms Kim McKay AO
BA Comm (1981)
Director & Chief Executive Officer, Australian Museum; Director & Founder, Momentum2;  Co-Founder of Clean Up Australia; UTS Vice-Chancellor’s Industry Advisory Board Member


David Murray

Mr David V Murray AO
BBus (1977); HonDBus (UTS) (2008)
Chairman, AMP Board; Senior Advisor, Credit Sussie; Non-Executive Director, Tenix Pty Ltd

Michael Myers

Dr Michael Myers OAM
BE Mechanical Engineering (1979)
Founder and Executive Chairman, Re-Engineering Australia Foundation

Warwick Negus

Mr Warwick Negus
BBus (1985)
co-Founder, 452 Capital; Former Managing Director, Goldman Sachs


Timothy C Palmer

Mr Timothy Palmer
BA Comm (1991)
Gold Walkley Award winning journalist; Winner, United Nations Media Peace Prize


Mr Andrew Penfold AM
LLB (1995)
Founder, Chief Executive Officer and Director, Australian Indigenous Education Foundation

The Hon Tanya J Plibersek MP

The Hon Tanya Plibersek
BA(Hons) Communication (1993)
Deputy Leader of the Opposition; Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party; Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development;  Federal Member for Sydney


Gregory J Poche

Mr Gregory Poche AO
Dip Tech Management (1976); BBus (1979); Doctor of Business (Honoris Causa) (2013)
Philanthropist; Founder and former Chairman, Star Track Express Pty Ltd

Nasima Rahmani

Ms Nasima Rahmani
LLM (2007)
Director of the Women's Empowerment Centre, Gawharshad Institute of Higher Education; 2015 Advance Global Alumni Award

George Savvides

Mr George Savvides
MBA (1985)
Chair, World Vision Australia; Chairman, Kings Group


Guy Templeton

Mr Guy Templeton
MBA (1992)
President and Chief Executive Officer, Asia-Pacific, WSP Australia Pty Ltd; UTS Vice Chancellor’s Industry Advisory Board Member

Adrian Turner

Mr Adrian Turner
B Business (1997)
Chief Executive Officer, Data61; Co-Chair, Australia Cyber Security Growth Network; Australian eHealth Research Centre Board Member; Co-founder and former Chief Executive Officer of Mocano Corporation

David Wang

Mr David Wang (Mr Wang Weixian)
BBus (1992)
Honorary Chairman, Greenland Hong Kong Holdings Ltd; Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, Morning Crest Capital


Dr Simon Walsh

Dr Simon Walsh
PhD Science (2009)
National Manager Specialist Operations, Australian Federal Police

Rachel Ward AM

Ms Rachel Ward AM
Grad Dip Comm (1995) Grad Cert Writing (1996)
Actor, Director, Writer, Producer

Scott Wharton

Mr Scott Wharton
LLB (2009)
Head of Better Risk Outcomes Program, Commonwealth Bank of Australia


Scott Wharton

Mr Richard White
Master of Business in Information (Technology Management) (2002)
Chief Executive Officer and Founder, WiseTech Global



Selection Criteria

For information on the selection criteria for UTS Luminaries please click here.