Balmain Teachers' College

Orange Grove Annex Alumni Network

The Orange Grove Annex of Balmain Teachers' College opened on 10 June 1957. It operated with women students only until it closed in 1970. The network holds an annual reunion. 

Balmain Teachers

2013 Balmain Teachers’ College Reunion


As part of our 25th anniversary we are welcoming graduates from the founding institutions to join the UTS alumni community and enjoy the same benefits as current UTS graduates.

The UTS Alumni community is the place to keep in touch with the university, old friends and build and develop new business connections.

As part of the Alumni community you will also have access to all the latest events, reunions and development opportunities as well as a whole range of other benefits.

There is also an exclusive offer for all graduates from former institutions – the opportunity to receive a UTS commemorative certificate of recognition for your studies. To find out more click here.

 Balmain Teachers' College - Orange Grove Annex Alumni Network

This photo was taken in 1959 and shows all students and staff attending that year.

Back row (from left to right):
Pam McKinney, Elaine Cox, Mary Bondietti, Jill Champion, Gai Lyons, Lucia Varnier, Rosemary Pickering, Pat Hanrahan, Judith Curtis, Stephanie Hesketh, Ann Polgar, Nola Crawford, Jean Cohen, Denise Conaghan, Robyn Hodge, Ruth Holgate, Elizabeth Deaman, MArgaret Herron, Philomena Wood, Judy Bromfield.

3rd row (from left to right):
Betty Knight, Diana Slarke, Jan Wallwark, Margery Abbott, Jecelyn Miller, Kay Baker, Irene Love, Margaret Neuhaus, Joan Sheehy, Patsy Sproule, Lili Pataki, Helen Archibald, Ann Heard, Jacqueline Moyles, Rae Hand, Nina Loder, Gillian Mason, Lorraine McLean, Toni Saffron, Ann Fleming, Pam Norton.

2nd row (from left to right):
Robyn Thompson, Joan Rennie, Audrey Scholz, Shirley Taverner, Julie Sheehan, Beryl Barnes, Lyn Cubis, Lyn Ward, Barbara Taylor, Judy Gillies, Barbara Wadson, Val Johnson, Elizabeth Worden, Connie Frazer, Virginia Welbourn, Heather Bewley, Margaret Webster, Pat Wong, Delma Pratt, Ann Osborne.

Front row (from left to right):
Diane Browne, Barbara Osbourne, Lila Burton, Helen Thompson, Lois Spencer, Leone Wallace, Miss Brandt, Mr Browne, Miss Gould (Frame), Mr Gray, Mrs Levis, Mr Shaw, Mr Turnbull, Miss Cheers (Edwards), Margaret Duguid, Elaine Clarke, Leslie Turner, Yvonne Greenberg, Olwen Roberts, Eileen Lee.