Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences specialises in communication, education and international studies. The faculty has a strong practice orientation with a focus on technology, creativity and internationalism, supported and enhanced by academic expertise in communication and media; languages and culture; and teacher education.

Notable Arts and Social Sciences Alumni

Martin Bean CBE

Martin Bean CBE
Bachelor of Adult Education (1992)
Vice Chancellor, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology

Jemma Birrell

Jemma Birrell
Bachelor of Arts (Hons) (Communication) (2003)
Artistic Director, Sydney Writers' Festival

Nan Bosler

Nan Bosler OAM
DipEd Adult Community Ed (1989)
Diploma of CommunityOrgs (1990); Bachelor of Education (Adult Education)
Master of Local Government (1996)
President, Australian Seniors Computer Clubs Association Community volunteer


Genevieve Clay-Smith

Genevieve Clay-Smith
Bachelor of Arts in Media Arts and Production (2009)
Director and Co-founder, Bus Stop Films and Taste Creative

Michael P Coutts-Trotter

Michael Coutts-Trotter
Bachelor of Arts (Communication) (1995)
Secretary, NSW Department of Family and Community Services

Lantian Du's profile

Lantian D
Master of Media Arts and Production (2010)
Portrait artist


Anna Funder

Anna Funder
Doctor of Creative Arts (2012)
Author and winner of the Miles Franklin Award for 'All That I Am'

kate grenville

Dr Kate Grenville
Doctor of Creative Arts (2005)
Author and winner of Commonwealth Prize for Literature for The Secret River

Senator Sekai Holland

Senator Sekai Holland
Bachelor of Arts in Communication (1979); Doctor of Letters (Honoris Causa) (2013)
Human Rights Activist; former Zimbabwean Senator and Co-Minister of State for National Healing, Reconciliation and Integration;  Co-Patron, Midlands State University;  Winner of 2012 Sydney Peace Prize; 2014 Advance Global Alumni Award recipient


Hugh Jackman

Hugh Jackman
Bachelor of Arts (Communication) (1991)
Actor and Producer; Co-Chairperson and Trustee, Jackman Furness Foundation

Father Peter Maher OAM

Father Peter Maher OAM
Master of Education (Adult Education) (2001)
Parish Priest, St Joseph’s Church, Newtown

Graeme Mason

Graeme Mason
Bachelor of Arts (Communications) (1987)
Chief Executive Officer, Screen Australia


Kim McKay, AO

Kim McKay AO
Bachelor of Arts in Communication (1981)
Director & CEO, Australian Museum; Director & Founder, Momentum2;  Co-Founder of Clean Up Australia; UTS Vice-Chancellor’s Industry Advisory Board Member

Dr Robin Morrow;s profile

Dr Jane Messer
Doctor of Creative Arts (2002)
Author; and Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing, Macquarie University

Dr Robin Morrow;s profile

Dr Robin Morrow AM
Master of Arts (Children’s Literature and Literacy) (1991); PhD (2004)  
President, Australian Section of International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY)
Founder, Children’s Bookshop at Beecroft


Andrea Myles

Andrea Myles
Master of Arts in International Studies (2007); Master of Arts in China Studies (2011)
Chief Executive Officer and Co-founder, China Australia Millennial Project

Timothy C Palmer

Timothy Palmer
Bachelor of Arts in Communication (1991)
Gold Walkley Award winning journalist; Winner, United Nations Media Peace Prize

Frank Pearce's profile

Frank Pearce
Bachelor of Education (Adult Education) (1998)
Former State Coordinator, Aboriginal Education with the Catholic Education Commission NSW (CECNSW); 2011 recipient of the Brother John Taylor Award for Excellence


The Hon Tanya J Plibersek MP

The Hon Tanya Plibersek
Bachelor of Arts (Hons) (Communication) (1993)
Deputy Leader of the Opposition; Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party; Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development;  Federal  Member for Sydney

Rachel Ward

Rachel Ward AM
Grad Dip Comm (1995); Grad Cert Writing (1996)
Actor, Director, Writer, Producer