Australia Day Honours - Map of Australia overlaid with the Australian flag

UTS alumni and staff honoured on Australia Day

26 January 2015

Six UTS alumni are among the outstanding Australians recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours for their contributions to government, health, sport and the international community.

Former NSW Labor Senator and Bachelor of Laws (1997) graduate, Stephen Loosley, has been awarded an Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia. Mr Loosley, who is the Chairman of the Australian Strategic Policy Institute, and a Fellow of the Centre for International Legal Studies in Salzburg, was recognised for his work in the development of public policy and service to international relations and to the Parliament of Australia.

Master of Science in Clinical Measurement (2001) graduate Neil Street, was also awarded an AM for service to medicine in the fields of paediatric anaesthesia and malignant hyperthermia, and to the people of the Asia-Pacific region through medical aid programs.

Peter Wright (Diploma of Teaching Technical Education, 1989) received the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division for his contribution to the sport of squash through a range of executive roles.

Three alumni were awarded the prestigious Public Service Medal:

  • Raymond Brownlee (Bachelor of Engineering in Civil Engineering, 1995) for his contribution to local government and to water conservation practices;
  • Arthur Diakos (Bachelor of Business, 1988) for his service to the transport services sector; and
  • Rodney Towney (Graduate Certificate in Adult Education in Community Education, 1995) for his work in creating education and employment opportunities for Indigenous youth.

UTS staff member Diane Brown was also awarded the Officer (AO) in the General Division for her services to nursing.

Additionally, UTS alumna, Genevieve Clay-Smith, was recognised as the 2015 NSW Young Australian of the Year. Clay-Smith, a Bachelor of Arts in Communications (Media Arts and Production) (2009) graduate, was selected for her work with diverse and marginalised communities to voice their experiences through creating filmmaking.

Find out more about UTS Alumni making a difference.